Skip to content
Index Report

Buying an Existing Business Statistics: How Many US Owners Bought Their Company Instead of Starting It (2026)

An index of 19 industries, 50 states and DC built from Census owner files: who bought, who founded, who inherited, and where the money came from.
Primary data
Census Annual Business Survey, Characteristics of Business Owners (2018 ABS, reference year 2017) with ASE 2014 to 2016 and SBO 2012
Data period
2012 to 2017 (acquisition and capital); 2023 (year acquired, prior business)
Latest release used
2025-11-20
Next release
Not announced; the acquisition-method question has not been asked since reference year 2017
Geography
United States, 50 states and DC, 22 large metro areas, 19 NAICS sectors
Sources
18 (18 Tier 1)
Short answer

Buying an existing business statistics from the Census Bureau show that 22.1% of US employer-business owners purchased their company, 68.9% founded it, 4.4% inherited it and 7.4% received it as a transfer or gift (2017, latest year asked). Buying ranges from 38.1% of owners in accommodation and food services to 12.1% in construction.

How the index is built

Industry purchase index and the 3.15-to-1 gap

FormulaPurchase index = 100 x sector purchased share / US purchased share; gap = highest sector share / lowest sector share

Inputs: Fact rows 13 (accommodation and food services, 38.1%), 31 (construction, 12.1%), 3 (US, 22.1%) (fact sheet rows)

Result: Index runs from 172 in accommodation and food services to 55 in construction; ratio 3.15

An owner of a restaurant, bar or hotel was 3.15 times as likely to have bought the business as a construction-firm owner in 2017. Five sectors sit above the US share beyond the 90% margin: accommodation and food services, retail trade, management of companies, manufacturing and other services.

Limitations: Two-digit sectors hide large differences inside them (a dental office and a home-health agency are both health care). Shares are among owners of responding firms.

State ranking and the Plains-to-Florida spread

FormulaState gap = highest state share / lowest state share; significance = state share +/- 1.6 x published SE versus 22.1%

Inputs: Fact rows 32 (South Dakota, 33.4%), 82 (Florida, 16.8%), 242 (1.6 SE rule); state rows for all 51 (fact sheet rows)

Result: Ratio 1.99 (16.6 points). 16 states are above the US share and 9 below beyond the margin; 26 are not distinguishable from it

Buying an established business is roughly twice as common among South Dakota owners as among Florida owners. The high-purchase states cluster in the Plains and Great Lakes; the low ones are fast-growing Sun Belt and coastal states.

Limitations: A state with many new firms will have a lower bought share because young firms are mostly founded (see firm-age section). The ranking reflects firm age mix as well as buying habits.

Census-division shares computed from counts

FormulaDivision share = sum of state purchased owners / sum of state owners reporting (not an average of state percents)

Inputs: State purchased counts and total-reporting counts in tables/t3 and fact rows for each state (fact sheet rows)

Result: West North Central 28.5% versus South Atlantic 18.9%; ratio 1.51

The regional pattern holds once states are pooled: the seven West North Central states have the highest bought share, the nine South Atlantic states (Delaware to Florida) the lowest.

Limitations: Weighted counts of owners of responding firms; the division share is a respondent-based figure, not a population estimate.

Buyers per heir

FormulaOwners who purchased / owners who inherited

Inputs: Fact rows 4, 6 (fact sheet rows)

Result: 5.06 owners bought for every owner who inherited, US, 2017

Buying a going concern is about five times as common a route into ownership as inheriting one. In health care and social assistance the ratio is 24.4; in mining it is 1.2.

Limitations: An owner who both inherited and bought out a relative can be counted in both groups.

Stability of the bought share, 2012 to 2017

Formulamax - min of the employer purchased share across five survey years; Spearman rank correlation of the 19 sector shares, 2016 versus 2017

Inputs: Fact rows 190, 195, 200, 205, 3; sector rows for 2016 and 2017 (fact sheet rows)

Result: Range 1.1 points (21.0% to 22.1%); rank correlation 0.98

The share of owners who bought in is a slow-moving structural number, and the industry order barely changes from year to year. A 2017 figure is therefore a reasonable guide to the current mix, with the caveat below.

Limitations: No survey after 2017 asked the question, so any change since the 2020 to 2023 acquisition activity is not measured. The 2017 standard error (1.0 point) is larger than the ASE ones.

Employer versus nonemployer owners

FormulaEmployer purchased share / nonemployer purchased share, 2012

Inputs: Fact rows 190 (21.7%), 209 (7.9%) (fact sheet rows)

Result: Ratio 2.75

Owners of businesses with staff were 2.75 times as likely to have bought them as sole proprietors without employees, whose businesses are mostly started from scratch.

Limitations: 2012 is the latest year with a nonemployer figure. The SBA Office of Advocacy cites 16% for nonemployer owners in 2007; the 2012 file gives 7.9%, so the two years should not be read as a trend without checking the 2007 definitions.

How owners' previous businesses ended, 2023

FormulaSold share = (prior business purchased by a company + by an individual) / owners with a prior business; closed share = no longer operating / owners with a prior business

Inputs: Fact rows 185, 186, 184, 182, 188 (fact sheet rows)

Result: 5.5% sold, 16.5% closed: 3.0 closures for every sale

Among 2023 owners who had owned a business before, a prior business that closed was three times as common as one that was sold. 71.4% still owned the earlier business.

Limitations: Covers only owners who went on to own another employer business; it says nothing about owners who retired after selling.

Download the calculations (CSV)

22.1%of US employer-business owners bought their business rather than founding, inheriting or receiving it (2017)[1]
3.15xaccommodation and food services owners (38.1% bought) versus construction owners (12.1%), 2017[1]
33.4% vs 16.8%bought share in South Dakota versus Florida, our state ranking from the 2017 owner file (ratio 1.99)[1]
64.5%of employer firms used personal or family savings to start or acquire the business; 16.6% used a bank loan (2017)[2]

Four routes into ownership, and how often each was taken: buying an existing business statistics for 2017

The Census Bureau asked owners of employer businesses how they first acquired ownership. In reference year 2017, 22.1% said they purchased the business, 68.9% founded or started it, 4.4% inherited it and 7.4% received it as a transfer of ownership or gift.

These buying an existing business statistics come from the 2018 Annual Business Survey (ABS), which covers reference year 2017. The form asked, for each of up to four owners, "How did Owner 1 initially acquire ownership of this business? Select all that apply," with four options: founded or started, purchased, inherited, and received transfer of ownership or gift (2018 ABS questionnaire).

How owners of US employer businesses first acquired ownership, 2017 Download CSV
How the owner first acquired ownershipOwners of responding employer firms (weighted)Share of owners reporting (%)Standard error (points)90% CI low (%)90% CI high (%)
Founded or started326488568.92.265.472.4
Purchased104556622.11.020.523.7
Inherited2066854.40.53.65.2
Received transfer of ownership or gift3493507.40.86.18.7
Owners answering the question (total reporting)4737543100.0
Owners not answering (item not reported)23615

Select all that apply, so shares sum to 102.8%. Counts are sample-weighted owners of responding firms (up to four owners per firm), not estimates of all US owners. 90% interval = share plus or minus 1.6 standard errors.

Source: [1][9][12] U.S. Census Bureau; U.S. Census Bureau; U.S. Census Bureau

Owner, not firm: Every share on this page that describes acquisition is a share of owners. A firm with three partners who bought it together counts three times. The capital figures further down are shares of firms. The two are never mixed.

Because owners could tick more than one box, the four shares add to 102.8%. An owner who founded a firm with a partner and later bought the partner out can appear as both founder and buyer. The purchased share has a standard error of 1.0 point, so its 90% interval runs from 20.5% to 23.7%.

Put as ratios: 32.0 owners bought their business for every 100 who founded one, and 5.06 owners bought for every owner who inherited. Inheritance is the rarest of the four routes in all 19 sectors; it comes closest to buying in mining, where 13.7% inherited and 16.4% bought.

  • Women owners: 20.2% purchased; men: 22.9% (2017, US).
  • Asian owners: 28.8% purchased, the highest of the race groups the ABS publishes; White owners 21.5%; Black or African American owners 13.6%; Hispanic owners 15.6% (2017, US).
  • Veteran owners: 21.6% purchased, against 22.1% for nonveterans (2017, US).

Restaurants and shops change hands; contractors and consultants start from scratch

The share of owners who bought their business ranges from 38.1% in accommodation and food services to 12.1% in construction, a ratio of 3.15. Retail trade (34.1%), manufacturing (27.5%) and other services such as repair shops and salons (27.1%) also sit well above the US share of 22.1%.

Share of owners who bought their business, by industry, 2017

Owners of US employer firms; US share 22.1%

Share of owners who bought their business, by industry, 2017Horizontal bar chart: 38.1% of accommodation and food services owners bought their business in 2017, followed by retail trade at 34.1%; construction is lowest at 12.1%, against a US share of 22.1%.% of owners reportingAccommodation and food services38.1Retail trade34.1Management of companies28.5Manufacturing27.5Other services (repair, personal care)27.1Utilities25.2Health care and social assistance23.8Arts, entertainment, recreation22.8Wholesale trade22.1Finance and insurance19.7Information18.7Educational services17.3Mining, oil and gas16.4Administrative and waste services16.4Real estate and rental16.0Agriculture, forestry, fishing15.5Transportation and warehousing15.3Professional, scientific, technical14.3Construction12.1

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, 2018 Annual Business Survey (reference year 2017), table AB1700CSCBO; SMBB analysis.

The purchase index sets the US share to 100. Accommodation and food services scores 172 and retail trade 154; construction scores 55 and professional, scientific and technical services 65. The survey does not ask why. One reading consistent with the ranking: a restaurant, store or plant comes with a location, equipment and walk-in customers that a buyer can take over, while many contracting and consulting firms rest on the owner's own skills and relationships.

Purchase index: share of owners who bought their business, by industry, 2017 Download CSV
RankIndustry (NAICS sector)NAICSPurchased (% of owners)Standard error (points)Purchase index (US = 100)Founded (%)Inherited (%)Transfer or gift (%)Owners bought per owner who inheritedOwners reporting (weighted)
1Accommodation and food services7238.10.317256.03.65.510.5412043
2Retail trade44-4534.10.215454.76.48.55.4558774
3Management of companies5528.53.712941.217.520.21.621176
4Manufacturing31-3327.50.712453.69.713.82.8255392
5Other services (repair, personal care)8127.10.312364.94.46.46.1301775
6Utilities2225.23.611455.010.014.02.52393
7Health care and social assistance6223.81.110873.91.02.924.4466256
8Arts, entertainment, recreation7122.80.710370.64.25.05.485971
9Wholesale trade4222.11.110061.78.012.32.8265551
10Finance and insurance5219.71.88971.34.67.74.3203320
11Information5118.71.18571.63.88.55.065607
12Educational services6117.31.17877.61.65.611.153690
13Mining, oil and gas2116.41.67460.813.714.41.217950
14Administrative and waste services5616.40.87475.82.96.95.7280365
15Real estate and rental5316.01.17269.98.49.01.9269634
16Agriculture, forestry, fishing1115.51.37071.97.98.62.026383
17Transportation and warehousing48-4915.32.26973.15.98.62.6138339
18Professional, scientific, technical5414.32.76580.11.35.811.3750088
19Construction2312.11.75577.14.58.62.7595965

Purchase index = sector purchased share / US purchased share (22.1%) x 100. 'Industries not classified' (NAICS 99) is left out. Management of companies and Utilities have standard errors above 3 points; read their ranks loosely.

Source: [1] U.S. Census Bureau

Health care and social assistance is a case apart. Its bought share (23.8%) is near the US average, but only 1.0% of its owners inherited the business, so buyers outnumber heirs 24.4 to 1, the widest ratio of any sector. Mining (16.4% bought, 13.7% inherited) has the narrowest, at 1.2.

The ranking is stable. Across the 19 sectors, the 2016 Annual Survey of Entrepreneurs and the 2017 ABS have a rank correlation of 0.98. In 2016, accommodation and food services was also first (35.2%) and construction last (11.4%).

Empty family restaurant dining room set for service before opening
Illustrative photograph. Generated image, not a specific project.

South Dakota owners bought in twice as often as Florida owners

By state, the bought share runs from 33.4% in South Dakota to 16.8% in Florida, a ratio of 1.99. Sixteen states are above the US share of 22.1% beyond the 90% margin of error, nine are below it, and 26 cannot be told apart from it.

Share of employer-business owners who bought their business, by state, 2017

Plains and Great Lakes states lead; Florida is lowest

Share of employer-business owners who bought their business, by state, 2017US tile map of the purchased share of owners by state in 2017: South Dakota 33.4%, Iowa 32.5% and North Dakota 32.3% are highest; Florida 16.8%, Hawaii 17.6% and Utah 18.4% are lowest.AK: 29.4AK29.4ME: 23.9ME23.9VT: 26.7VT26.7NH: 25.0NH25.0WA: 23.0WA23.0ID: 24.9ID24.9MT: 27.6MT27.6ND: 32.3ND32.3MN: 28.8MN28.8IL: 23.0IL23.0WI: 31.7WI31.7MI: 27.7MI27.7NY: 18.9NY18.9RI: 21.8RI21.8MA: 22.8MA22.8OR: 24.7OR24.7NV: 18.8NV18.8WY: 27.5WY27.5SD: 33.4SD33.4IA: 32.5IA32.5IN: 25.5IN25.5OH: 26.4OH26.4PA: 24.4PA24.4NJ: 21.3NJ21.3CT: 23.4CT23.4CA: 19.7CA19.7UT: 18.4UT18.4CO: 21.3CO21.3NE: 29.1NE29.1MO: 23.9MO23.9KY: 23.4KY23.4WV: 22.2WV22.2VA: 19.3VA19.3MD: 19.8MD19.8DE: 20.2DE20.2AZ: 19.9AZ19.9NM: 22.9NM22.9KS: 27.8KS27.8AR: 24.2AR24.2TN: 25.2TN25.2NC: 20.5NC20.5SC: 21.3SC21.3DC: 21.4DC21.4OK: 22.6OK22.6LA: 21.3LA21.3MS: 24.8MS24.8AL: 22.7AL22.7GA: 19.5GA19.5HI: 17.6HI17.6TX: 19.9TX19.9FL: 16.8FL16.8PR16.8 to 19.819.8 to 21.421.4 to 23.023.0 to 24.924.9 to 27.727.7 to 33.4% of owners reporting

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, 2018 Annual Business Survey (reference year 2017), table AB1700CSCBO; SMBB analysis.

The top of the ranking is a block of Plains and Upper Midwest states: South Dakota (33.4%), Iowa (32.5%), North Dakota (32.3%), Wisconsin (31.7%), Nebraska (29.1%) and Minnesota (28.8%). The bottom is fast-growing or coastal: Florida (16.8%), Hawaii (17.6%), Utah (18.4%), Nevada (18.8%), New York (18.9%) and California (19.7%).

Pooling the state counts by Census division gives the same picture: 28.5% of owners in the West North Central division bought their business, against 18.9% in the South Atlantic division, a ratio of 1.51.

Share of employer-business owners who bought their business, by state, 2017 Download CSV
Show all 51 rows
RankStatePurchased (% of owners)Standard error (points)90% CI low (%)90% CI high (%)Versus US 22.1% (90% CI)Inherited (%)Owners reporting (weighted)
1South Dakota33.42.130.036.8above5.021518
2Iowa32.51.230.634.4above5.461390
3North Dakota32.31.430.134.5above4.618351
4Wisconsin31.71.129.933.5above4.5103790
5Alaska29.43.723.535.3above2.713112
6Nebraska29.11.726.431.8above4.841840
7Minnesota28.81.426.631.0above3.8107780
8Kansas27.81.725.130.5above5.752096
9Michigan27.71.125.929.5above4.9144090
10Montana27.62.423.831.4above3.629849
11Wyoming27.53.521.933.1not different5.015421
12Vermont26.73.121.731.7not different4.215156
13Ohio26.40.725.327.5above6.1155329
14Indiana25.51.523.127.9above5.496589
15Tennessee25.21.522.827.6above5.478639
16New Hampshire25.01.322.927.1above4.824281
17Idaho24.92.520.928.9not different3.437753
18Mississippi24.81.522.427.2above7.632246
19Oregon24.71.921.727.7not different3.983233
20Pennsylvania24.40.723.325.5above6.5183992
21Arkansas24.22.120.827.6not different6.841961
22Maine23.91.821.026.8not different5.026616
23Missouri23.91.521.526.3not different6.195157
24Connecticut23.41.121.625.2not different6.254369
25Kentucky23.42.219.926.9not different6.055792
26Illinois23.00.821.724.3not different5.2203260
27Washington23.01.520.625.4not different3.3133850
28New Mexico22.92.419.126.7not different6.028591
29Massachusetts22.80.821.524.1not different5.5103299
30Alabama22.71.720.025.4not different6.057500
31Oklahoma22.61.819.725.5not different5.859928
32West Virginia22.22.019.025.4not different8.520802
33Rhode Island21.81.918.824.8not different6.715141
34District of Columbia21.41.918.424.4not different2.38884
35Colorado21.31.918.324.3not different2.6118485
36Louisiana21.31.119.523.1not different6.863788
37New Jersey21.30.420.721.9below4.9142085
38South Carolina21.31.718.624.0not different5.661018
39North Carolina20.51.218.622.4not different5.0145154
40Delaware20.23.015.425.0not different5.714254
41Arizona19.91.417.722.1not different2.684827
42Texas19.90.718.821.0below4.4321885
43Maryland19.81.317.721.9below3.784287
44California19.70.419.120.3below3.7586768
45Georgia19.51.217.621.4below4.2132747
46Virginia19.31.317.221.4below4.3122788
47New York18.90.518.119.7below4.5296535
48Nevada18.82.115.422.2not different3.638742
49Utah18.42.015.221.6below3.958399
50Hawaii17.62.913.022.2not different4.318311
51Florida16.80.815.518.1below2.9319487

'Above' or 'below' means the state's 90% interval excludes the US share of 22.1%. Ties share the order shown.

Source: [1][12] U.S. Census Bureau; U.S. Census Bureau

Among the 22 metro areas with at least 40,000 reporting owners, Detroit-Warren-Dearborn has the highest bought share (24.1%), followed by St. Louis (23.4%) and Minneapolis-St. Paul (22.8%). Miami-Fort Lauderdale-West Palm Beach is lowest (13.7%), behind Los Angeles-Long Beach-Anaheim (16.6%) and Atlanta (17.2%).

Between 21% and 22% of owners bought in, in every survey from 2012 to 2017

Five Census surveys asked the same four-option question of employer-business owners. The bought share stayed between 21.0% (2014) and 22.1% (2017), a range of 1.1 points. No ABS cycle after reference year 2017 has asked it again.

How employer-business owners acquired their business, 2012 to 2017

Purchased, inherited and transfer or gift shares; 2013 not surveyed

How employer-business owners acquired their business, 2012 to 2017Line chart: the purchased share of employer-business owners stayed between 21.0% and 22.1% from 2012 to 2017, the transfer or gift share between 6.9% and 7.4%, and the inherited share between 3.8% and 4.4%.0510.015.020.025.0% of owners reporting20122014201520162017PurchasedTransfer or giftInherited

Sources: U.S. Census Bureau, Survey of Business Owners 2012; Annual Survey of Entrepreneurs 2014 to 2016; Annual Business Survey 2017.

How employer-business owners acquired their business, 2012 to 2017 Download CSV
Reference yearSurveyFounded or started (%)Purchased (%)Inherited (%)Transfer or gift (%)Standard error of purchased (points)Owners reporting (weighted)
2012Survey of Business Owners70.021.73.86.90.15522835
2014Annual Survey of Entrepreneurs70.421.03.97.00.25768389
2015Annual Survey of Entrepreneurs70.021.14.17.20.25352663
2016Annual Survey of Entrepreneurs69.721.34.17.30.25223412
2017Annual Business Survey68.922.14.47.41.04737543

Same four answer options in all five surveys; employer firms only. No survey was run for 2013, and no ABS cycle after 2017 asked the question.

Source: [8][7][6][5][1] U.S. Census Bureau; U.S. Census Bureau; U.S. Census Bureau; U.S. Census Bureau; U.S. Census Bureau

The 2012 Survey of Business Owners also covered businesses without employees. Only 7.9% of nonemployer owners had bought their business, against 21.7% of employer-business owners, a ratio of 2.75. Across all owners combined, the 2012 bought share was 11.3%.

The SBA Office of Advocacy's fact sheet cites 16% purchased for nonemployer owners and 66% founded for employer owners in 2007. Those figures come from the 2007 Survey of Business Owners, which this report did not re-tabulate, so 2007 is shown here only as context.

The older the firm, the more likely its owner bought it

In 2016, 17.1% of owners of firms under two years old had bought the business, rising to 26.1% for firms in business 16 years or more. Owners of the oldest firms were 1.53 times as likely to be buyers as owners of the youngest.

Share of owners who bought their business, by age of the firm, 2016

Owners of US employer firms

Share of owners who bought their business, by age of the firm, 2016Column chart: 17.1% of owners of firms under 2 years old bought their business in 2016, rising to 19.9% at 11 to 15 years and 26.1% for firms 16 or more years old.010.020.030.0% of owners reporting17.1less than 2years17.42 to 3 years17.84 to 5 years19.16 to 10 years19.911 to 15 years26.116 or more years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of Entrepreneurs 2016 (ASECBO2016).

The gradient is gentle until year 15 (17.1% to 19.9%) and then jumps. A business has to survive long enough to be worth buying, and each change of hands adds a buyer to the owner roster while the firm keeps its age. The share under two years is not zero because a purchase can create a new legal entity that Census records as a young firm.

The ABS does not cross-tabulate how ownership was acquired with the owner's age or the firm's employment size, so neither breakdown can be built from the published files. For the age of current owners, see the business owner age by state report.

How owners paid to start or buy: savings first, banks a distant second

In 2017, 64.5% of employer firms used personal or family savings to start or initially acquire the business. A bank loan was named by 16.6%, a government-guaranteed bank loan (the form's option for SBA-backed loans) by 1.6%, and family or friends by 3.8%. The question covers starting and buying together.

Where the money to start or buy the business came from, 2017

Share of US employer firms; more than one source allowed

Where the money to start or buy the business came from, 2017Horizontal bar chart: 64.5% of employer firms used personal or family savings to start or acquire the business, 16.6% a bank loan, 8.7% other personal assets, 8.6% personal credit cards and 1.6% a government-guaranteed bank loan.% of firms reportingPersonal or family savings64.5Bank loan16.6Other personal or family assets8.7Personal credit cards8.6Business credit cards5.6Home equity loan5.4Loan or investment from family or friends3.8Other sources2.7Government-guaranteed bank loan (incl. SBA1.6Venture capital0.5Government business loan0.4Grants0.2

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, 2018 Annual Business Survey (reference year 2017), table AB1700CSCB01.

The capital question reads "what was the source(s) of capital used to start or initially acquire this business? Select all that apply." Because it does not separate founders from buyers, no published figure shows how bought businesses alone were financed. Shares are of the 3,153,971 firms (weighted) that answered; 12.3% did not know and 10.4% needed no capital.

Sources of capital used to start or initially acquire the business, US employer firms, 2017 Download CSV
Source of capital used to start or initially acquire the businessFirms (weighted)Share of firms reporting (%)Standard error (points)
Personal/family savings of owner(s)203431064.51.7
Business loan from a bank or financial institution52346616.60.1
Personal/family assets other than savings of owner(s)2733988.70.0
Personal credit card(s) carrying balances2712588.60.4
Business credit card(s) carrying balances1781445.60.3
Personal/family home equity loan1715505.40.1
Business loan/investment from family/friends1207683.80.1
Other source(s) of capital843692.70.3
Government-guaranteed business loan from a bank or financial institution497061.60.0
Investment by venture capitalist(s)173370.50.2
Business loan from federal, state, or local government126110.40.0
Grants64030.20.1
Don't know38871612.31.5
None needed32821410.40.1

Firm-level, select all that apply. The question covers starting OR acquiring, so it cannot isolate purchases. Share of the 3,153,971 firms (weighted) answering.

Source: [2][9] U.S. Census Bureau; U.S. Census Bureau

Size changes the mix. Savings were used by 68.3% of firms with 1 to 4 employees but 21.0% of firms with 500 or more, a gap of 47.3 points. Bank loans peak in the middle: 23.6% of firms with 10 to 19 employees. Larger firms answer "don't know" more often (45.9% at 500 or more), usually because the founding or purchase predates the current respondent.

Savings versus bank loans by size of firm, 2017

Share of firms naming each source of start or acquisition capital

Savings versus bank loans by size of firm, 2017Grouped column chart: 68.3% of firms with 1 to 4 employees used savings and 12.9% a bank loan; at 10 to 19 employees the figures are 59.8% and 23.6%; at 500 or more employees, 21.0% and 13.3%.020.040.060.080.0% of firms reporting68.312.91 to 463.021.85 to 959.823.610 to 1954.823.220 to 4948.223.050 to 9941.120.2100 to 24935.718.9250 to 49921.013.3500+Personal or family savingsBank loan

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, 2018 Annual Business Survey (reference year 2017), table AB1700CSCB04.

Main capital sources by employment size of firm, 2017 Download CSV
Employment size of firmPersonal or family savings (%)Bank loan (%)Government-guaranteed bank loan, incl. SBA (%)Loan or investment from family or friends (%)Personal credit cards (%)None needed (%)Don't know (%)
1 to 4 employees68.312.91.03.19.212.08.8
5 to 9 employees63.021.82.14.88.98.013.0
10 to 19 employees59.823.63.05.67.96.917.1
20 to 49 employees54.823.23.15.36.67.622.4
50 to 99 employees48.223.02.24.74.58.227.9
100 to 249 employees41.120.21.54.03.09.933.1
250 to 499 employees35.718.90.83.33.011.338.0
500 employees or more21.013.30.42.01.015.445.9

Share of firms answering in each size class; select all that apply. Firms with no employees in 2017 are omitted. The government-guaranteed option on the form reads 'including SBA-guaranteed loans'.

Source: [3][9] U.S. Census Bureau; U.S. Census Bureau

Amounts were small for most firms. 35.0% of firms started or acquired the business with less than $25,000 and 17.2% with $100,000 or more; 20.5% did not know the amount. Buyers typically need more than founders, but the ABS does not publish the amounts by acquisition method.

Small back-office desk with a ledger, binder and a ring of keys on a folder
Illustrative photograph. Generated image, not a specific project.

What the 2023 survey still shows: when owners took over, and how their last business ended

The 2024 ABS (reference year 2023, released November 20, 2025) dropped the acquisition-method and capital-source questions but kept the year ownership was acquired and the fate of the owner's prior business. 14.8% of owners reporting took ownership in 2020 to 2023, by any route.

Of owners answering in 2023, 33.7% acquired ownership in 2010 to 2019, 19.2% in 2000 to 2009 and 14.4% did not know the year. The single-year shares for 2020, 2021, 2022 and 2023 were 4.3%, 4.9%, 4.3% and 1.3%. These count surviving owners only: an owner who took over in 2021 and closed or sold by 2023 is not in the data.

Among owners who had owned a business before, 5.5% said that prior business was purchased by another company or individual and 16.5% said it was no longer in operation: 3.0 closures for every sale. Most of the rest still owned the earlier business. The 2017 survey worded the question differently (8.3% sold among owners answering), so the two years are not compared.

The 2024 ABS sample was cut to about 330,000 employer businesses from about 850,000 in the 2023 ABS, and Census says owner estimates are percents among owners of responding firms. For the number of businesses that exist, see how many small businesses there are; for what a sale involves, see the six stages of a sale.

Key findings

  1. 22.1% of owners of US employer businesses purchased their business, reference year 2017 (90% interval 20.5% to 23.7%).[1][12]
  2. 68.9% of owners founded or started their business, 4.4% inherited it and 7.4% received it as a transfer or gift, US, 2017; the shares sum to 102.8% because more than one answer was allowed.[1][9]
  3. Owners who bought outnumbered owners who inherited by 5.06 to 1, US, 2017.[1]
  4. 38.1% of accommodation and food services owners bought their business, the highest of 19 sectors, US, 2017.[1]
  5. 12.1% of construction owners bought their business, the lowest of 19 sectors, US, 2017; professional, scientific and technical services was next lowest at 14.3%.[1]
  6. Health care and social assistance owners bought their business 24.4 times as often as they inherited it (23.8% versus 1.0%), US, 2017.[1]
  7. South Dakota had the highest bought share of any state (33.4%) and Florida the lowest (16.8%), 2017.[1]
  8. The West North Central division had a bought share of 28.5% and the South Atlantic division 18.9%, computed from state owner counts, 2017.[1]
  9. Among the 22 largest metro areas by reporting owners, Detroit-Warren-Dearborn ranked first (24.1%) and Miami-Fort Lauderdale-West Palm Beach last (13.7%), 2017.[1]
  10. The employer bought share was 21.7% in 2012, 21.0% in 2014, 21.1% in 2015, 21.3% in 2016 and 22.1% in 2017.[8][7][6][5][1]
  11. 7.9% of nonemployer-business owners had bought their business in 2012, against 21.7% of employer-business owners.[8]
  12. 26.1% of owners of firms in business 16 or more years had bought them, against 17.1% for firms under two years old, US, 2016.[5]
  13. 64.5% of US employer firms used personal or family savings to start or initially acquire the business, 2017.[2]
  14. 16.6% of US employer firms used a bank loan and 1.6% a government-guaranteed bank loan to start or acquire the business, 2017.[2][9]
  15. Among 2023 owners with a prior business, 5.5% said it had been sold and 16.5% said it had closed.[4]

Summary for decision makers

  • In reference year 2017, 22.1% of owners of US employer businesses had purchased their business, 68.9% founded it, 4.4% inherited it and 7.4% received it as a transfer or gift (Census ABS).
  • Buying is most common in accommodation and food services (38.1% of owners) and retail trade (34.1%), and least common in construction (12.1%): a 3.15-to-1 gap.
  • South Dakota (33.4%), Iowa (32.5%) and North Dakota (32.3%) have the highest bought shares; Florida (16.8%) the lowest. Sixteen states are above the US share beyond the margin of error, nine below.
  • The bought share held between 21.0% and 22.1% in five surveys from 2012 to 2017.
  • Owners of firms 16 or more years old were more likely to be buyers (26.1%) than owners of firms under two years old (17.1%), 2016.
  • Personal or family savings funded the start or purchase of 64.5% of employer firms; bank loans 16.6%; government-guaranteed loans, including SBA-backed ones, 1.6% (2017).
  • The 2024 ABS (reference year 2023) no longer asks how ownership was acquired, so 2017 remains the latest national figure.

Questions people ask

What percentage of businesses are bought rather than started?

Among owners of US employer businesses, 22.1% bought their business and 68.9% founded it (Census ABS, reference year 2017). Counting businesses without employees, the share is lower: 11.3% of all owners in 2012, because only 7.9% of nonemployer owners had bought (Census SBO 2012).

Is it better to buy a business or start one?

The Census data cannot answer that, because the surveys record how current owners got their business, not how bought and founded firms perform afterwards. What the data does show is where buying is the usual route: in accommodation and food services 38.1% of owners bought in, against 12.1% in construction (2017).

How do most people finance buying a business?

The ABS asks one question for starting and buying together. In 2017, 64.5% of employer firms used personal or family savings, 16.6% a bank loan, 8.6% personal credit cards, 3.8% family or friends and 1.6% a government-guaranteed bank loan such as an SBA-backed loan. A firm could name several sources.

Which industries are most often bought?

Accommodation and food services (38.1% of owners bought their business), retail trade (34.1%), management of companies (28.5%), manufacturing (27.5%) and other services such as repair and personal care (27.1%), US, 2017. Construction (12.1%) and professional services (14.3%) are least often bought.

For journalists and researchers

If you cite only a few, cite these

  1. 22.1% of US employer-business owners purchased their business (Census ABS, reference year 2017).[1]
  2. Bought share by industry: 38.1% in accommodation and food services to 12.1% in construction (2017).[1]
  3. Bought share by state: 33.4% in South Dakota to 16.8% in Florida (2017).[1]

Most quotable statistics

  • 22.1% of owners of US employer businesses bought their company rather than founding, inheriting or receiving it (Census ABS, 2017).[1]
  • Restaurant, bar and hotel owners were 3.15 times as likely to have bought their business as construction-firm owners: 38.1% versus 12.1% (2017).[1]
  • South Dakota owners bought in at twice Florida's rate: 33.4% versus 16.8% (2017).[1]
  • For every owner who inherited a business, 5.06 bought one (US, 2017).[1]
  • Between 21.0% and 22.1% of employer-business owners had bought their business in every Census survey from 2012 to 2017.[8][1]
  • 64.5% of employer firms were started or bought with personal or family savings; 1.6% used a government-guaranteed loan (2017).[2]

Press summary

About one in five owners of US businesses with employees bought the company rather than starting it. In the Census Bureau's 2018 Annual Business Survey, which covers 2017 and is the latest to ask, 22.1% of employer-business owners said they purchased their business, 68.9% founded it, 4.4% inherited it and 7.4% received it as a transfer or gift. Sell My Business Broker's analysis of the bulk files ranks 19 industries and every state. Buying is most common among owners of restaurants, bars and hotels (38.1%) and retailers (34.1%), and least common in construction (12.1%). By state, the share runs from 33.4% in South Dakota to 16.8% in Florida, with Plains and Great Lakes states at the top. The share barely moved between 2012 and 2017. Most owners funded the start or purchase with personal or family savings (64.5% of firms); 16.6% used a bank loan and 1.6% a government-guaranteed loan.

Suggested headlines

  • One in five US business owners bought their company instead of starting it, Census data show
  • Restaurant owners are three times as likely as contractors to have bought their business
  • South Dakota owners bought in at twice the rate of Florida owners
  • Savings, not bank loans, funded most business starts and purchases
  • The share of owners who bought their business has held near 22% since 2012

How to cite this report

Sell My Business Broker. (2026). Buying an Existing Business Statistics: How Many US Owners Bought Their Company Instead of Starting It (2026). Retrieved from https://sellmybusinessbroker.com/research/how-many-business-owners-bought-their-business/

Reuse license

Data and tables are licensed CC BY 4.0. Attribution: “Source: Sell My Business Broker, Buying an Existing Business Statistics: How Many US Owners Bought Their Company Instead of Starting It (2026)” with a link to this page.

Download the data

Every table in this report is available as a CSV under CC BY 4.0. The fact sheet lists each value with its source URL and access date.

Frequently asked questions

How many business owners bought their business?

22.1% of owners of US employer businesses said they purchased their business in the 2018 Annual Business Survey, which covers 2017. That is a share of owners of responding firms; Census does not publish it as a national head count.

Is there newer data than 2017 on how owners acquired their business?

No. The 2024 ABS (reference year 2023, released November 20, 2025) dropped the question, and the reference years 2018 to 2022 cycles did not carry it either. The 2017 figure is the latest.

Why do the acquisition shares add up to more than 100%?

The form says "Select all that apply." An owner can be both founder and buyer, so the four shares sum to 102.8% in 2017.

Does the 22.1% mean 22.1% of businesses were bought?

No. It is a share of owners, and the ABS counts up to four owners per firm. A firm bought by three partners contributes three owners.

Which state has the most owners who bought their business?

South Dakota, at 33.4% of owners reporting in 2017, followed by Iowa (32.5%) and North Dakota (32.3%). Florida is lowest at 16.8%.

Which industry has the fewest owners who bought in?

Construction: 12.1% of owners bought their business in 2017, against 38.1% in accommodation and food services.

How often do owners inherit a business?

4.4% of employer-business owners inherited their business in 2017, the least common of the four routes. Inheritance is most common in management of companies (17.5%) and mining (13.7%).

How much money did owners need to start or buy their business?

In 2017, 35.0% of employer firms needed under $25,000 and 17.2% needed $100,000 or more; 20.5% did not know. The figures cover starting and buying together.

How common are SBA loans in buying or starting a business?

1.6% of employer firms named a government-guaranteed bank loan, the form's option that includes SBA-guaranteed loans, as a source of start or acquisition capital in 2017. 16.6% named an ordinary bank loan.

Did the share of owners who bought their business change over time?

Barely. It was 21.7% in 2012, 21.0% in 2014, 21.1% in 2015, 21.3% in 2016 and 22.1% in 2017, a range of 1.1 points.

Reproduce this analysis

Every figure comes from the files below. The scripts that pulled and computed them are kept with the report and can be re-run.

DatasetPublisherSourceQuery or filterRows usedRetrieved
ABS Characteristics of Business Owners, reference year 2017 (2018 ABS)U.S. Census BureauFile or endpointOWNER_SEX=001, OWNER_ETH=001, OWNER_RACE=00, OWNER_VET=001; QDESC=O01 ACQBUS (and O15 PRIORBUSTAT); GEOTYPE 01, 02, 08; NAICS2017 00 and 2-digit; demographic rows for O01 at US level6 ACQBUS codes x (1 US + 51 states + 20 sectors + 22 large metros) plus 13 demographic purchased rows2026-11-02
ABS Characteristics of Businesses, reference year 2017 (2018 ABS)U.S. Census BureauFile or endpointSEX=001, ETH_GROUP=001, RACE_GROUP=00, VET_GROUP=001; QDESC B07 STRTSRCE and B08 ACQBUSCAP; GEOTYPE 01; NAICS2017 0016 capital-source rows and 13 capital-amount rows2026-11-02
ABS Characteristics of Businesses by employment size, reference year 2017U.S. Census BureauFile or endpointQDESC B07 STRTSRCE; EMPSZFI 612 to 657; NAICS2017 00; all-owner demographic codes8 size classes x 7 sources = 56 rows2026-11-02
ABS Characteristics of Business Owners, reference year 2023 (2024 ABS)U.S. Census BureauFile or endpointAll-owner demographic codes; QDESC O02 YRACQBUS and O15 PRIORBUSTAT; GEOTYPE 01; NAICS2022 00; checked that no ACQBUS rows exist12 year-acquired rows and 8 prior-business rows2026-11-02
Annual Survey of Entrepreneurs owner bundles 2014, 2015, 2016U.S. Census BureauFile or endpointGEOTYPE 01; ACQBUS not 00; every other owner characteristic 00; YIBSZFI 001 (and 311 to 323 for firm age, 2016); same file pattern for ASECBO2014.zip and ASECBO2015.zip6 ACQBUS codes x 20 NAICS x 3 years, plus 36 firm-age rows (2016)2026-11-02
Survey of Business Owners 2012, how the owner acquired the businessU.S. Census BureauFile or endpointGEOTYPE 01; CBOGROUP 00; CBOSEX 00; ACQBUS CA to CF; employer (OWNPDEMP), nonemployer (OWNNOPD) and all-owner (OWNALL) columns6 ACQBUS codes x 20 NAICS2026-11-02

Data quality and exclusions

  • Kept only all-owner rows: 1,985,403 rows of the 2017 owner file and 439,317 rows of the 2023 owner file passed the demographic-total filter; the rest are sex, ethnicity, race or veteran splits.
  • Dropped 'Item not reported' rows (23,615 owners in 2017) from every share; Census excludes them from the percent base.
  • Excluded NAICS 99 'Industries not classified' (13,634 owners reporting) from the industry ranking.
  • Limited metro areas to the 22 Metro Areas (not Micro Areas, CSAs or divisions) with at least 40,000 owners reporting, out of 382 metro and micro areas with data, to keep standard errors small.
  • The SBO 2012 bundle SBOCBO2012.zip failed its integrity check twice on 2026-11-02 (identical bytes both times), so the per-table file SB1200CSCBO01.zip was used instead.
  • Checked suppression flags (D, S, X, N) on every cell used: no purchased-share cell for the US, states, sectors or the 22 metros was suppressed. The 'Item not reported' percent cells carry flag X and are not used.
  • Checked that no ABS cycle for reference years 2018 to 2022 carries ACQBUS, using the official AB1800CSCBO to AB2200CSCBO zips (copies downloaded from www2.census.gov on 2026-11-02 for the sister report on owner age): their only acquisition-related item is YRACQBUS.
  • Downloaded but not used: 2017 tables AB1700CSCB02 and AB1700CSCB03 and 2023 tables AB2300CSCB01 to AB2300CSCB05, which do not carry an acquisition-method item.

Methodology

Selection. The question is answered from the Census Bureau's own bulk files: the 2018 Annual Business Survey owner table AB1700CSCBO (reference year 2017), its business tables AB1700CSCB01 and AB1700CSCB04, the 2024 ABS owner table AB2300CSCBO (reference year 2023), the 2014 to 2016 Annual Survey of Entrepreneurs owner bundles and the 2012 Survey of Business Owners table SB1200CSCBO01. All are Tier 1. The SBA Office of Advocacy fact sheet is used only to compare published figures. Question wording comes from the 2018 ABS questionnaire.

Inclusion. Only rows for all owners (no sex, ethnicity, race or veteran split) are used, except the demographic list in the first section. Geography: US (GEOTYPE 01), states (02) and metro areas (08). Industry: all sectors and 2-digit NAICS sectors; 'Industries not classified' is excluded from the ranking. Metro areas are limited to those with at least 40,000 owners reporting (weighted), which leaves 22.

Units. Acquisition figures are shares of owners; capital figures are shares of firms. Shares are the Census-published percents. Regional figures are computed from counts (sum of purchased owners over sum of owners reporting), not by averaging state percents.

Significance. Census gives a standard error for each percent. Following the ABS methodology, a 90% interval is the estimate plus or minus 1.6 standard errors. A state or sector is called above or below the US share only when its interval excludes 22.1%.

Conflicts. The SBA fact sheet (March 2021) gives 67% founded for 2017; the current Census file gives 68.9%. The current file is used. The SBA's 16% nonemployer figure for 2007 is reported as context only because the 2007 file was not re-tabulated.

Derived metrics (ratios, index values, division shares, rank correlation, prior-business outcomes) are listed with formulas and input rows in derived_metrics.csv and reproduced by the scripts in the scripts folder.

Limits. The acquisition question was last asked for 2017. It is select-all-that-apply. Owner estimates are not adjusted for nonresponse. The capital question does not separate starting from buying. Last updated 2026-11-02.

This report presents published data with its limitations. It is not legal, financial or investment advice.

Sources, ranked by quality

Tier 1: primary and official sources (18)